Reviews - press
Audio Clips

Sergej Prokofiev, Symphony n. 5, USA
The Philharmonic completed an impressive autumn on Tuesday evening with a resplendent reading of Prokofiev’s Symphony Number 5, adding that highvoltage score to a list of triumphs in symphonic works that test the mettle of even the best of ensembles. Maestro Fagen was back on the podium for the Prokofiev ... he’s a solid technician who has interesting interpretive ideas about the music he chooses. Fagen had the hard-working Philharmonic playing with a level of assurance that makes an audience comfortable and an intensity that made the music sizzle. Individual solos sounded impeccable. In ensemble, the orchestra, 100 strong, played as a united one.

Peter Jacobi,, December 9, 2010
Anton Bruckner, Symphony n. 4, USA
Maestro Fagen, who conducted without score, led an integrated and spacious reading. The technical quality of the performance was praiseworthy, too, from the opening moments when a French horn, dangerously exposed because of the surrounding quiet, calls forth. Thereafter, for 70 minutes, the musicians in solo, sections, and full orchestral mode acquitted themselves splendidly, bending flexibly and compellingly to their conductor’s will.
The audience cheered.

Peter Jacobi,, October 15, 2010

<< Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 Next >>

Content Management Powered by CuteNews


© Arthur Fagen & Chronos Artists 2008 / 2009 - Contact us -